The Dog Liberator™

The Dog Liberator rescues abandoned dogs throughout the Southeast. Based in Central Florida, this non-profit organization fosters all of their dogs in a home environment. Founded in 2009, all dogs are fully vetted, spayed or neutered prior to adoption. The Dog Liberator focuses in rescuing the herding breed, which consists of Border Collies, Shepherds, Sheepdogs, Aussies, Collies, and Deaf/Blind Dogs.

Come Pack!

Come Pack!
Ralph, Deaf and Blind
Ralph, Deaf and Blind
Ralph, the Deaf/Blind Puppy
Ralph, the Deaf/Blind Puppy

In less than five years, The Dog Liberator has rescued, rehabilitated, trained and re-homed over two dozen deaf and/or blind dogs.

They are simply amazing creatures that are in many ways extremely easy to train…   the concept of “come”, however, has posed many challenges.

A vibrating collar, along with reward will help us train deaf/blind dogs much faster, thus preparing them for their new homes.

http://www.gundogsupply.com/vibration-collars–vibrating-collar-guide.html

 

Where's Ralph?
Where’s Ralph?

$839.00 will purchase four vibrating collars ($209.99 each) that we will use to train deaf and/or blind dogs to “come”.

We are submitting a request for a grant us a $1,000 grant to purchase these collars, which will be distributed to fosters who specialize in fostering deaf/blind dogs.

 

 

China and Sarah
China and Sarah

Here is a quick glance at our  history with Deaf and/or Blind Dogs:

2014 Adoptions:

Johnny Carson   – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/heres-johnny/  –   Owner Surrender

 

Ginger Doodle – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/ginger-doodle/       Owner Surrender

 

 

2013 Adoptions:

Sinatra – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/sinatra/     Owner Surrender

 

John King – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/john-king/    Summerdale, Baldwin County AC

 

Ralph Lauren – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/ralph-lauren/           Owner Surrender

 

Juliet – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/juliet/          Owner Surrender

 

Winter and Dale
Winter and Dale

Squeeze – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/squeeze/  Owner Surrender, Alabama

 

Maddon – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/maddon/   Owner Surrender, Georgia

 

Anderson Cooper – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/anderson-cooper/   FL, Polk County AC

 

Little Miss Muffet – Toy Poodle

http://thedogliberator.com/little-miss-muffet/  FL, Lake City HS

 

Squeeze!
Squeeze!

Winter – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/winter/  FL, Seminole County Animal Control

 

Bailey’s Irish Cream – Border Collie

http://thedogliberator.com/baileys/  Owner-Surrender

 

2012 Adoptions:

Jalo – Sheltie

http://thedogliberator.com/jalo/      FL, Miami-Dade AS

 

Diva – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/diva/    GA, Gainesville, Hall County HS

 

Knish – Aussie/Catahoula

http://thedogliberator.com/knish/  GA, Gainesville, Hall County HS

 

2011 Adoptions:

Falcor – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/falcor/  Owner-Surrender

 

Irwin – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/irwin-the-adventurer/   Craig’s List

 

Dundee – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/dundee-the-aussie/  Craig’s List

 

Fiona – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/fiona-the-deaf-aussie-pup/  Craig’s List

 

Baby GA GA – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/the-one-the-only-baby-ga-ga-adopted/  AL, Athens Dog Pound

 

Kiss the Puppy – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/kiss-the-puppy/  Craig’s List

 

2010 Adoptions:

Sparrow – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/the-craigs-list-sisters-asia-and-sparrow-sparrow-adopted/                Craig’s List

 

Sassafras – Old English Sheepdog

http://thedogliberator.com/sassafras-the-5-month-old-deaf-oes-adopted/  Owner Surrender

 

Velveteen – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/velveteen-welcome-to-rescue-adopted/  Owner-surrender

 

China – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/china-the-little-aussie-girl-takes-down-dah-house-adopted/

GA, Kingsland, Camden County HS

 

Skate – Aussie

http://thedogliberator.com/could-skate-the-puppy-be-deaf/  AL, Hale County, HS

 

 

China
China

Articles:

Deaf Dogs Rock Auction   –   http://thedogliberator.com/deaf-dogs-rock-auction/

Why Adopt A Deaf Dog?  –  http://thedogliberator.com/why-adopt-a-deaf-dog/

White Aussies Coming Soon   –  http://thedogliberator.com/white-aussies-coming-soon/    

Jen’s Puppies   –   http://thedogliberator.com/jens-puppies/           

The Wilson   –   http://thedogliberator.com/the-wilson-pack/ 

Deaf Dogs Hear with their Hearts   –   http://thedogliberator.com/deaf-dogs-hear-with-their-hearts/ 

Let It Go   –   http://thedogliberator.com/let-it-go/ 

A Dog with Special Talent   –   http://thedogliberator.com/a-dog-with-special-talent/  – 

Barcley Dog Park, Deland    –   http://thedogliberator.com/barcley-dog-park-deland/  – 

The Chosen Ones, Owning a Deaf Dog   –   http://thedogliberator.com/owning-a-deaf-dog/ 

More Great Ideas for Calming Dogs   –   http://thedogliberator.com/more-great-ideas-for-calming-dogs/  

Great Websites for Training Deaf Dogs   –   http://thedogliberator.com/great-websites-for-training-deaf-dogs/  

I’m Keeping China – About Deaf/Blind Dogs   –   http://thedogliberator.com/im-keeping-china-about-deafblind-dogs/

The Thundershirt and the New and Improved Velveteen, The Deaf/Blind Aussie   –   http://thedogliberator.com/the-thundershirt-and-the-new-and-improved-velveteen-the-deafblind-aussie/

What Is A Reputable Breeder?  –  http://thedogliberator.com/what-is-a-reputable-breeder/

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: